Health Worker Training

  1. HOME
  2. »
  4. »
  5. Our Programs
  6. »
  7. Health Worker Training

Health Worker Training Schools

In 1989, churches were operating seven General Nursing schools and seventeen Community Health Worker Schools. To date, these are the current health worker training schools which CHS oversees.

School Church Affiliation Province
Braun CHW Training School Lutheran Morobe
Gaubin CHW Training School Lutheran Madang
Kapuna CHW Training School Gulf Christian Services Gulf
Onamuga CHW Training School Salvation Army Eastern Highlands
Rumginae CHW Training School Evangelical Church of PNG Western
Kukumanda CHW Training School Four Square Enga
Salamo CHW Training School United Milne Bay
St. Margarets CHW Training School Anglican Oro (Northern)
Tinsely CHW Training School Baptist Union Western Highlands
Telephomin CHW Training School Baptist Union Sandaun
Tombil CHW Training School Seventh Day Adventist Jiwaka
Lutheran School of Nursing Lutheran Madang
Nazarene School of Nursing Nazarene Jiwaka
St Banabas School of Nursing Anglican/United/Catholic Milne Bay
Pacific Adventist University (SOPAS) Seventh Day Adventist Central

All Catholic health training schools which CHS facilitated up until 2016 are now being managed by National Catholic Health Services. These are: Lemakot (New Ireland), Raihu (Aitape), Kumin (Mendi) and St Geralds (Central) Community Health Worker Training Schools and Vunapope School of Nursing.